These product categories exist in Matter

On the sidelines of consumer electronics show IFA in Berlin, the Connectivity Standards Alliance (CSA) answered an important question: What classes of devices will the new smart home standard support when it launches in the fall? Jon Harros, Director of Certification and Testing Programs at CSA, has named eight categories to be included in version 1.0 of Matter. They should come as no surprise to regular readers of this blog, as some of them have appeared in previous communications from CSA:

  • Lighting and electrical
  • Fan controls
  • HVAC controls
  • Door locks
  • Sensors (inc. safety and security)
  • Window coverings / shades
  • Media-Player
  • Bridges
Jon Harros, Director of Certification and Testing Programs CSA, in Berlin during IFA.

However, development will not stop with this first package in the fall. Work is already underway on other device classes. According to the CSA, there are active Use Case teams for the following categories that will be considered in upcoming versions of the Matter specifications:

  • Appliances (White goods)
  • Robot vacuum cleaners
  • Doorbells / Cameras
  • Energy management (EV Charching etc.)
  • Access points, Border Routers

Share this information:

Sponsor / Advertising

Sponsor / Advertising